Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Western Equestrian Wraps up Regular Season

Team photo of Western Equestrian

The Alfred State Western Equestrian team wrapped up the regular season with a strong showing at Alfred University on Saturday. The Pioneers finished the AM show as the reserve hi-point team.

Alyssa Beardsley (Letchworth) was the reserve hi-point rider in the AM Show. She was 2nd in both the open reining and open horsemanship categories. Jennifer Cirigliano (Brewster) won in the beginner competition while Jamie Fredenburg (Fabius Pompey) won in novice. Jessica Bongard (Webster Thomas), Mackenzie Caletka (Vestal), Kathleen Crangdon (Webster Thomas), and Amber Laibe (Vestal) all finished 2nd in their respective categories in the morning.

Caylen Bedow (Fillmore) won in the afternoon in the advanced competition while Caletka (Novice) and Cirigliano (Beginner) were 2nd.

The Pioneers have 10 riders that have qualified for the IHSA Zone 2 Region 1 Championships on February 17th. The show will be held at Alfred University. 

Show Results 

                                             AM                            PM

Alyssa Beardsley        Open Reining 2nd       Open Reining --

                                    Open HMS 2nd           Open HMS 6th

Caylen Bedow             Advanced 3rd             Advanced 1st

Jessica Bongard         Novice 2nd                  Advanced 3rd

Mackenzie Caletka     Novice 2nd                  Novice 2nd

Meaghan Castoro       Novice 4th                   Novice 3rd

Jennifer Cirigliano       Beginner 1st                Beginner 2nd

Kathleen Crandon       Novice 3rd                   Novice 5th

Megan Delianne          Beginner 3rd               Beginner 5th

Jamie Fredenburg       Novice 1st                   Novice 4th

Michael Henry             Beginner 2nd              Beginner 3rd

Amber Laibe               Novice 3rd                   Novice 3rd

Sarrah Matla               Novice 3rd                   Novice 3rd

Morgan Maas              Inter. 2 5th                   Inter. 2 4th

Rachel von Hagn        Open HMS 5th            Open HMS 5th

Brayden Webber         Inter. 2 3rd