Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mack Honored by the ABCA

Mack Honored by the ABCA

Garrett Mack (Avon) has been named to the ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division III Mideast All-Region Third Team following a electrifying senior season.

Mack finished his career (12-6 record in 33 appearances) with a 5-1 record during the 2019 season. He had a 2.72 ERA in 59.2 innings of work and held opposing hitters to just a .200 batting average. He allowed just 45 hits this season while striking out 53.

In AMCC play he was even more dominant. He finished league play with a 4-0 record and a 1.55 ERA.  During a stretch of six appearances this season (37.2 innings of work), he didn't allow an earned run. During that stretch he threw three straight complete game victories for the Pioneers (vs. Pitt Bradford - 9 IP, 3H, 11 K's, vs. Medaille 9 IP, 5 H, 13 K's, and vs. D'Youville 9 IP, 5H, 10 K's). 

Earlier this postseason, Mack has been named the AMCC Pitcher of the Year, 1st team All-AMCC, and 2nd team All-ECAC. 

Mack is currently playing for the Alpine Cowboys of the Pecos League.

About the Award

The 2019 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. III All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America Committee.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Paul Hesse of the University of Mount Union. Also on the committee are Derek Carlson (Brandeis University), Dean Glus (The College of New Jersey), Ray Hedrick (Randolph-Macon College), Luke Johnson (North Park University), Scott Laverty (Chapman University), Corey Paluga (Elmira College) and Kevin Tomasiewicz (University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.

Complete list of honorees

Mack Named All-ECAC
May 23, 2019 Mack Named All-ECAC
Miscues Cost Pioneers
March 2, 2019 Miscues Cost Pioneers
Baseball to Host Alumni Weekend
September 10, 2018 Baseball to Host Alumni Weekend